Upcoming Events

Log in

Log in

hcma officers

Eva Crooke, M.D.


Dr. Eva Crooke practices Obstetrics & Gynecology with The Woman’s Group, an all-female practice in Tampa. A Tampa Bay native, Dr. Crooke was born in St. Petersburg. She remained in the area, receiving her medical degree in 2008 and completing her internship and residency at the University of South Florida.  Dr. Crooke has been installed as a 119th President of HCMA on May 10th, 2022.

Joel Silverfield, M.D.

Immediate Past President 

Dr. Joel Silverfield, an Internal Medicine/Rheumatologist in Tampa, was born in Montgomery, Alabama. Dr. Silverfield attended medical school, internship, and residency at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia and went on to complete a fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Dr. Silverfield is a renowned research investigator in clinical trials involving patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis and other autoimmune disorders. He has resided in Tampa since 1982.

Michael Cromer, M.D.

President Elect

Dr. Michael Cromer, born in Indiana, has been in practice since 1989. He is a Family Medicine physician with Wellmed Medical Group in the Carrollwood area of Tampa. He graduated from the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine in Tulsa in 1986 and completed his post-graduate training through the Bayfront Medical Center in St. Petersburg, Florida. Dr. Cromer is also Board Certified in Addiction Medicine and serves as the Medical Director for Passport Health located in Tampa.

Damian Caraballo, M.D.

Vice President

Dr. Damian E. Caraballo is an Emergency Medicine Specialist in Tampa, Florida and has over 15 years of experience in treating a wide array of acute conditions and injuries. Dr. Caraballo is affiliated with multiple hospitals in the area, including St. Joseph's Hospital - Tampa and Tampa General Hospital. Dr. Caraballo graduated with honors from the University of South Florida, Morsani College of Medicine in 2007.

Mintallah Haider, M.D.


Dr. Mintallah Haider practices Oncology at the Moffitt Cancer Center. She received her medical degree from the University of Florida College of Medicine in Gainesville in 2011. She did her post-graduate training at the University of Southern California / Los Angeles County Medical Center and the University of South Florida / Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa.

Arun Kalava, M.D.


Dr. Arun Kalava is Board Certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology and European Society of Regional Anesthesia & Pain Therapy. He received his medical degree in 2004 from Siddharta Medical College in India and completed a post-residency fellowship in Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine at Mayo Clinic. Dr. Kalava practices pain management in Tampa. He is the owner and medical director of his practice TampaPainMD and the owner and medical director of Ultrasound Experts in Tampa.

Edward Farrior, M.D.

Chairman, Board of Trustees

Dr. Edward Farrior received his medical degree from the University of Virginia and has practiced facial plastic surgery in Tampa for over 25 years. Dr. Farrior has been on the clinical faculty at USF since completing his fellowship and on the clinical faculty at the University of Virginia since 2006. He has held many leadership positions including President of HCMA. His greatest professional accomplishment is serving on the Board of Directors for the American Board of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery. His greatest personal honor is to be the husband of Amy Farrior (a member of the Board of Governors for the Florida Bar and past president of the HCBA), father of three and grandfather of two.